top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Kicked out

I am travelling as a Couchsurfer, not always but often. I love it. Helping out with cleaning gigs is always welcome. That way I ended up on a sailing boat. My hosts only request was to help out with cleaning gigs, which I did. Wasn`t much work though, just the usual stuff on a sailing boat. Docked in Dublin, which gave me the chance to interview an employee of the Pieta, an highly successful association for suicide prevetion and awareness in Ireland. On the weekend me, my CS host and his friend went on a trip in the Irish waters. AWESOME. At some time I watched a lonely mosquito flying by, way out in the sea. I was wondering if it ever made it to the shore. Despite the red jelly fish in the water, I went swimming at 15 degrees, was very refreshing :-)

That host called me the best couchsurfer ever, well, I was his first one. Was hard to leave, I loved my cabin on the boat, I liked him and his friends, i love sailing. But Scottland was calling me, so I packed my suitcase. In Glasgow I was welcomed by another couchsurfing host. We had some differences to put it mildly, esp. in regards to his nudist culture and lack of personal boundaries. I hoped washing his tea cups would pacify him. They were very very brown, looked like a layer of the last 100 tea cups he had consumed. I managed to scrubb it off. This did not impress him much, unfortunately. He cursed the CS community, gave me 5 mins to pack my stuff. So he kicked me out at 23:20, calling me names. So much about opinions. Was a bit stressful as I had to give a paper at the Glasgow Petrocultures conference the next day. I caught the last bus back to town at 12:35, found a hostel, made a receptionist cry... my name seems to evoke some past memories, prepared for my talk in the middle of the night and had a successful presentation the next day. Lesson learned: I will never stay at a CS host again who doesn`t wash his cups properly.

bottom of page