top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Justice for bees

Stopover in Brusses before crossing the channel. Heading towards Ireland, then Scottland. Today, I went to the Palace of Justice building. It is massive. It is bigger than St. Peters in Rome. For the building to be completed, 3000 houses had to be torn down. After that period "architect" was a swear word in Brussels for a while, so the urban legend. I wonder how many cleaning ladies they employ. I noticed, the massive columns have aber 0,5 mm of dust, but that was not the most interesting part, I was intrigued by the insects outside, of course. At the bottom of the photograph you find my star for today. He is called Elvis Presley. He was staring right at me, so it seemed, demanding justice for all bees.

He and his friends were after the far-flung dandylinons that squeezed themselves through the cobble sthones on the huge plaza. “Justice for bees under construction” comes to my mind. The most part of the building is clothed in scaffolds. They are renovating the entire building, an incredible job. I wonder if the renovation of the justice system is under way on an as massive scale? Would be necessary in our globalized world. Unfortunately changes in law are not as visible. Grant personhood to bees. I think that would be a good idea. Like they have granted personhood to significant natural sites in New Zealand. https://www.nytimes.com/2016/07/14/world/what-in-the-world/in-new-zealand-lands-and-rivers-can-be-people-legally-speaking.html

bottom of page