top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Amsterdam

Day 19: Obviously I have a hard time keeping up with my blog, but as long as I have my 70 shomoirs at the end of the trip, I reached my goal. I am just preparing my visa for Russia and getting my stuff together for a small exhibition I plan with my dear friend Elena. It always helps to take a few days off during a trip, to breathe, to reflect, to wonder about the amazing people and experiences. And yes, to clean up a bit. Do some laundry. Doing laundry is almost a beloved ritual for me now. While folding the clothes, I can show gratitude to the clothes for protecting me. As Marie Kondo has taught me. I am a big fan of Marie Kondo, the Japanese tidy up expert. This time they had to protect me from my friends vomit. Which leads to a small story I want to share, since once again I had to clean up.

I visited a friend in Amsterdam. Two days, some sightseeing, and easy weekend, that was the plan. I arrived, amazed by the sheer number of biciyles. I thought I could imagine that, but I was still surprised. Since I am not into weed, I figured that would be enough of Amsterdam clichees. We spent a relaxing evening in the warm summer breeze, cathing up. After brunch next morning a friend texts him and ask if we want to join on a boattrip. I get really excited, we rush to get there, miss the boat by 5 minutes. What now. Trying not to be sad about the missed opportunity we decide to take the boat next to it, also an afternoon trip and the music and crowd looks like we are going to witness some amazing hip hop. So we join the crowd. Right at the entrance Linda warns us, not to eat too much of the chocolate as it has TCH in it. I smile, what a cute warning, chocolate can`t do too much harm can it? We start, wonderfund sunny afternoon. My friend gets hooked on the chocolate. With the strawberries it is delicious, still I am cautious. At some points he asked me in a serious manner: are we moving? I reply. Nope. He tried to get up to walk downstairs to the shade, he is sweating. after a few steps he collapses. I call for help, assuming he is on a trip. We try to wake him up, he responds in a rather curious manner. When asked if he feels like going downstairs now, he asks: Are we not downstairs already? The next few hours, I spend with giving him food, water and protecting him from falling sideways. Eventually he trows up into a bucket, which I then spill a bit in the rush and Linda and I clean up the mess. What a cliche and yet wonderful weekend with a friend in Amsterdam.

bottom of page